top of page

4 Easy Ways to Reduce Your Carbon Footprint ASAP

This Is Not a Drill, People! It is happening. Murphy's law is in full effect. And we may be on our way to doomsville. May be.

A quick look at my Twitter feed confirms that everything that could go wrong is going in that direction only. From cyclones to locusts attack, and from earthquakes to a virus that has paralyzed economies, we have a buffet of disasters staring at us.


While some of these problems were inevitable, other issues are the result of our doings. I won't call it wrongdoings because most of us did not know any better.

For example, I don't think the locusts are capable of taking orders for destroying crops in any pin code in particular. This could have happened any time.

But then the climate change is totally on us. We preponed this disaster one plastic straw at a time. Blaming the year 2020 is not going to help either. With so much happening simultaneously, entertaining negative thoughts can get very comforting. On some days I can't imagine this year ever coming to an end, and on others I imagine my own end, much like in those sci-fi movies. And just like all the students of the country are wondering now if they should start studying for their final exams or if there's any scope of further postponement, I too am wondering whether to start looking for ways to fix this mess on individual level, ya rehne de ab kyunki baat haath se bahar hai.


"The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now."

#BoycottChineseProducts as much as possible, but we gotta learn from this Chinese proverb. I know I will. Because no matter how grim the present situation of our planet is, not doing anything is not an option anymore.

So, no more faff and preaching, because I'd like to share some easy yet mindful changes that I have recently introduced in my life. These are the baby steps that can help with the teething issues of "changing" our unsuitable-for-the-planet lifestyle for a more sustainable one.


Here's a tiny list of things that I'm already practicing:


1. Back to doodh ki dolchi

90s kids would know how uncool it felt to be seen around your school area with a dolchi. Ew. It probably the stupid teenage that made us believe dabbas were uncool, so my sibling and I protested that our parents stop bringing milk from the Mother dairy in that hideous utensil, instead opt for the plastic packets that were THE GO-TO material for making mehndi cones.

Cut to 2020— wiping the milk tetra packs or plastic packets with a sanitizer everyday is a menace. So, we brought in another wave of change— or you can call it Dilli to Daulatabad aur Daulatabad to Dilli. Forced my parents to go back to doodh ki dolchi way of life. There was a lot of resistance in the household for this step. Comfort of tetra pack is nice but the beauty of a not seeing an overflowing with plastic bin is unmatchable.


2. Bye bye, deodorants - Full of mineral oil and aluminium, harms ozone layer, not refillable, causes air pollution, and basically does more harm than good. Need I say more? I guess, I should.

No one needs to stink and stay away from people. We don't need that kinda balidaan (sacrifice). There are natural and cheaper alternative available to stop the stinky bacteria from ruining everything. Yes, it'll take some time to look for and try new available options before finding 'the one'. But it's worth it because... why am I trying to sell you this? Bro, 'mountains are calling and I must go' type quotes post karne hain toh save the beauty our planet is.


3. No more paper cups

Coffee mug
The mug that I refused to use after this day.

I am one of those finicky people who cannot use the bone china coffee mugs kept in the break out area of the office. So, I used to carry my own mug to work on Monday, and bring it back home every Friday to get it properly cleaned. However, on days when I forgot my green polka dots coffee mug at home, paper cups used to save the days. Considering the number of Mondays I forgot to take my mug, it is safe to say that I have used AN INSANE NUMBER OF PAPER CUPS. But the real shocker was realizing that these cups are NOT biodegradable. Please learn from my mistake. No more one time use cups or cutlery for me.





4. No haggling with the vegetable sellers, but do constantly remind them to not pack anything in the plastic bags.

Try to grow micro greens in the house, it's the easiest way to get those farmer feels. And after that you'll never find the strength to haggle with the green grocers. Instead use that voice to say no to plastic. You'd think saying it once should do the work. Nah uh.

In my little experience (2 months to be precise) of shopping, I realized you'll have to repeat yourself again and again. Not because the sellers don't want to listen to you, but, because bagging the veggies quickly, like they do for all other customers is a subconscious salsa that you need to interrupt. Remember they have to pay for those bags that we discard as soon as we reach home. Nobody would mind if you give them a cloth bag to fill the veggies in. Give it a try.


The other things that I am hoping to do are a) mending over replacing and b) mindful purchasing. With the shops opening again and the online portals hosting sales my 'kabhi to kaam aayega' shopping attitude needs to be in check.


I'm trying to learn as much as possible about sustainable living. At this point I'm probably just doing 0.0005% of what needs to be done. But my imperfect sustainable living attempt is better than my perfectly plastic-wrapped life.


bottom of page